Return to Headlines

Girls Cross Country Wins Big North Conference for the First Time Since 1996


Chelsea Nakhleh '21 

23 November 2020

On November 2nd, the Girls Cross Country Team took home the Big North Conference Championship for the first time in twenty-four years. The team raced against Wayne Valley, East Side High School, and John F. Kennedy High School, defeating them and winning the elusive league champion title.Varsity Girls Cross Country Team; photo credit: Coach Walter Bleuler

Led by captains Lauren Koman '21, Lauren Russo '21, and Katharine Cottone '23, the Girls Cross Country Team achieved their most successful season in many years. With an undefeated record in dual meets, the team was overjoyed with the outcome of the season. “Winning is like a recognition of all our hard work,” said Russo. “We couldn’t be prouder of all our accomplishments this year.” 

The team is coached by Mr. Walter Bleuler and assisted by Mr. Erik Getz. Team members include Kaitlyn Cronin '21, Jeannie Alva '21, Elizabeth Dubov '21, Sarah Bolyan '22, Victoria Collins '22, and Yastika Singh '24. 

Cottone helped ensure the league win by placing first in the varsity girls race with a time of 21:20. “The win was very much a team effort,” said Cottone. “It was definitely the highlight of our season.”

The other girls followed with Singh placing third and running a time of 23:47, Koman with 24:17, Cronin with 24:37, Collins with a time of 24:52, Boylan with 26:20, and then Alva with 27:13. 

“There has been a huge improvement with the girls over the past few years,” said Coach Bleuler. “Their accomplishments are a testament to their hard work.”

Dubov and Cronin joined the team in their senior year. Dubov, a volleyball player, and Cronin, a gymnast, joined the team as a way to stay active due to the postponement of indoor fall sports. “It was a lot of fun,” said Dubov. “I’m happy I was able to be a part of this team.”

The Boys Cross-Country Team also experienced a fantastic season. Placing second in the Big North Conference Championship, senior captains Akram Lechguar, Thomas Lijoy and Elliot Witney led the boys team to an undefeated regular season.

The team looks forward to next season, hoping to improve even further for next fall.